The American Scene

Long overdue post, from a couple of months ago.  There was an exhibition held at the British Museum entitled ‘The American Scene: From Hopper To Pollock’.  It was love at first sight for me.  The exhibition itself focuses on the first half of the 20th century, from around the 1900s to the 1960s, and it is really interesting to see how the artists depict the changing times in America.  

Some of my favourite prints…

Martin Lewis - Little PenthouseLittle Penthouse, 1931 by Martin Lewis


Broadway Canyon - Werner DrewesBroadway Canyon, 1930 by Werner Drewes

 

Jackson Pollock - UntitledUntitled, 1951 by Jackson, Pollock

 

And… my favourite, accompanied by my all-time favourite poem:

Franz Kline - Poem

Poem, 1957 by Franz Kline

The signposting stated that this print was made in response to a love poem by Frank O’Hara, a close friend of Kline.

I will always love you

though I have never loved you

a boy smelling faintly of leather
looking up at your window

the passion that enlightens
and stills and cultivates, gone

while I thought your face
to be familiar in the blueness

or to follow your sharp whistle
around a corner into my light

That was love growing fainter
each time you failed to appear

I repent my whole life searching
love, which I thought was you

it was mine so very briefly
and I never knew it, or you went

I thought it was outside disappearing
but it is disappearing in my heart

like snow blown in a window
to be gone from the world

I will always love you.

 

Leave a comment